Monday, December 8, 2014

Review: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

Finding Paris
by Joy Preble
Young Adult Realistic Contemporary
Asked to Review
Average Goodreads Rating: 3.37
Published by: Balzer and Bray
Published on: April 21, 2015
Pages: 272



Before I get into my review, here's the synopsis from Goodreads:


A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK, about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister.


Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love.

But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly. 


My Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars.

Disclaimers: I received an e-galley of this novel from the publisher in exchange for my honest opinion. I was not obligated to write a good review nor did I receive any compensation for writing this review. 

An overview of the Novel: For Leo, it's always been her and her sister Paris. They've relied on each other through everything that has ever happened. Until one night, Paris goes missing. Literally, she just leaves Leo alone and takes off leaving behind mysterious clues for her to follow.

Leo has no idea what to think, but she knows she doesn't have a choice--she has to go after her sister. With the help of Max, the two embark on a long journey and a road trip to find her, but the truth isn't what either of them expected. But nothing is as it seems and they both are holding secrets that could destroy everything. 

My Overall Thoughts/Impressions: I have mixed feelings about this book. Up until the very last 20 pages of so it was a solid 4. I was nervous about the comparison to Speak and Thirteen Reasons Why because I love those books. I wouldn't personally compare this book to those ones at all. To me, it's more like a Dessen novel if I had to make a comparison and even that is a loose one.

Like I was saying, I loved the book until the last 20 pages. Preble's writing was really good. I found myself laughing out loud while reading and thoroughly enjoying the tale. Preble is an author that I will be keeping close tabs on, because I think she has great potential.

Like I said, the last few pages (I won't give anything away, don't worry) she came out with a shocking announcement that I agree should have been more prevalent throughout the novel. It was just like bam! and I felt taken off guard. It wasn't really resolved either. I'm not as frustrated about it as some others were. But I do agree with them. It was poorly handled.

Having said that, I will still give this novel a 3.5 because for the most part I really enjoyed it. This novel is a fun, intriguing read. The ending might have driven me a tad crazy, but overall I did enjoy the novel and am glad to have read it. 

So why 3.5 stars? Because I loved it up until the very end. A 4 except for the very end.

Warnings/Side-notes: This book was actually pretty clean. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to older teens. 

The Wrap-up: A novel I loved, but one in which the ending fell a little bit flat. A good read and one that is still worth reading. 

Love,

Danica Page

2 comments:

  1. When I read your rating, I thought "why?" (I haven't read it yet but thought it would be good) Now I know there's a bam and now i want to read it and I'm in finals! This sucks :/ Great review though. You don't give anything away and now I am even more intrigued by the book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I really do try not to give anything away. It's annoying when people do that. It was a good read. Good luck with finals.:) Thanks for commenting.

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
Book Review (373) books (366) reading (366) asked to review (298) series (207) romance (188) realistic (161) contemporary (160) young adult (154) netgalley (153) review (150) blogging (144) meme (138) 2015 (115) writing (103) arc (100) new adult (94) fiction (83) adult (81) blog tour (77) christian (76) 3 stars (53) Waiting on Wednesday (50) 2013 (46) my favorites (44) Top Ten Tuesday (41) reading addiction blog tours (41) historical fiction (40) characters (38) writing process (36) 2012 (35) suspense (32) fantasy (31) guest post (31) paranormal (31) Teaser Tuesday (29) standalone novel (28) 2014 (27) IMM (27) 4 stars (25) WWW Wednesdays (25) The Chosen One (21) new adult challenge 2013 (20) giveaways (19) letters (18) promo (17) Author Interview (16) blogger in the spotlight (16) contests (16) giveaway (16) mystery (16) debut novel 2012 (15) writing advice (15) NWOC (14) chick-lit (14) debut (13) edelweiss (13) excerpt (13) sci-fi (13) Black Rose (12) dystopia (12) 3.5 stars (11) author spotlight (11) editing (11) sophomore novel (11) Musing Mondays (10) authors (10) lists (10) tbr pile challenge 2013 (10) inspirational (9) retelling (9) top 10 (9) covers (8) short story (8) 2011 (7) Stacking the Shelves (7) debut novel 2013 (7) Thursday Tutorials (6) dac (6) in my opinion (6) novella (6) sports (6) winners (6) Publication (5) Xpresso Book Tours (5) nonfiction (5) Whimsical Wednesdays (4) amish (4) blog hop (4) challenges (4) journalism (4) list (4) mini review (4) 2013 sophomore challenge (3) Q and A (3) Three Shards of Glass (3) debut novel 2011 (3) discussion (3) male pov (3) middle grade (3) partners in crime blog tour (3) 2 stars (2) 2016 (2) 4.5 stars (2) 5 stars (2) Amazon steals (2) Monday Manifestos (2) NaNoWriMo (2) Saturday Sabbaticals (2) To-Read Tuesday (2) action (2) awards (2) book deals (2) book reviews (2) college (2) contes (2) country challenge (2) debut 2015 (2) howard books (2) rant (2) video (2) women's fiction (2) writing is everywhere (2) 2 (1) 2.5 stars (1) 2010 (1) BookLook bloggers (1) Danica's Writing Corner (1) Filling up the Pages (1) Marissa Meyer (1) Poetry Circle (1) Robert Frost (1) Winter (1) abuse (1) amanda black (1) amazon steals (1) analysis (1) august (1) blogoversary (1) book depository (1) book tour (1) book trade (1) classic literature (1) debut novel 2014 (1) deseret news review (1) design (1) ebooks (1) endings (1) freebie (1) irene hannon (1) january (1) lds (1) literary agents (1) month overview (1) more than fashion (1) new releases (1) plays (1) polls (1) ratedreads (1) read (1) readin (1) realist (1) seasonal (1) serial novel (1) songs (1) the single game (1) trailers (1)